The Road to Skid Row

Posted: September 18, 2012 in The Road to Skid Row

Half a year is a long time in the analogue world and even longer in the blogosphere. A lot can happen and, for me at least, a lot has happened since I last updated this blog.

I made two major changes to my life in the past six months – I left my job at Footprint Travel Guides and I flew out to the States, where I spent three months living in Los Angeles.  I intended to move out to LA for a year but I cut my trip short. Why did I go home early? Well, that’s what I hope to explain over the next few months on this blog.

I crammed about a year’s worth of experiences into three months and it is those experiences I want to write about. The Road to Skid Row – as I’m calling this blog series – is based on real life but I have taken some literary liberties. I have changed the names of some people and I have changed the order of events in some blogs to make for better reading.

The Road to Skid Row follows my journey from the affluence of Hollywood to what is effectively a refugee camp, a destitute slum area they call Skid Row. I will publish the blogs every Monday and Thursday, starting with the first blog later this week.

I look forward to hearing your thoughts and hope you enjoy it.

Tom

Leave a Reply

